India automatically qualify for 2022 Women’s Cricket World Cup

A victorious Indian women’s cricket team pose with the trophy after defeating England in February 2019

As the 4th placed team on the standings, the 2017 Women’s World Cup finalists have their place at the tournament assured

Following a decision by the ICC technical committee to split points for an unplayed bilateral series against Pakistan, India have booked their place for the tournament that is set to take place in New Zealand. T

That series was to be played in November 2019 as a part of the ICC Women’s Championship but got cancelled due to unabating political tensions between the countries.

“With respect to the India v Pakistan series, the TC (technical committee) concluded that the series could not be played because of a Force Majeure event after the BCCI demonstrated that it was unable to obtain the necessary government clearances to allow India to participate in the bilateral series against Pakistan, which forms a part of the ICC Women’s Championship,” the ICC said in the media release.

The BCCI engaged with the ICC and submitted a number of documents as early as 2018 stating that it could not get the required permissions from the government to play Pakistan. The ICC’s technical committee could then apply the force majeure clause on this occasion.

Both India and Pakistan were awarded three points each for the series which meant that India qualified as the fourth placed team on the ICC Women’s Championship table. India are on 23 points, behind Australia (37 points), England (29) and South Africa (25 points). Pakistan are placed fifth at the moment, just behind India at 20 points and are closely followed by New Zealand (17 points). The bottom two spots are occupied by West Indies (13) and Sri Lanka (5 points).

Points have also been split for the series involving South Africa, Australia and Sri Lanka, New Zealand that have been postponed due to covid-19.

In August 2020, the Women’s World Cup along with the men’s T20 World Cup in Australia were among the ICC events delayed until the following year.

New Zealand are directly awarded a place as tournament hosts and will be exempt from going through the qualification rigour. The three remaining spots were to be decided in July’s qualifying event in Sri Lanka, though doubt remains whether cricket will resume by that time following the coronavirus pandemic.

Pakistan, West Indies, Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, Ireland, Thailand, USA, Netherlands, Zimbabwe and Papua New Guinea are slated to play the qualifiers.  

Please follow and like us: